JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Byron Nelson
Byron Nelson (1946)
River Oaks CC
John Deere Classic - July 10, 2006

TPC Deere Run

Silvis, IL
Par: 35-3671Yards: 7,193
Purse: $4,000,000Winner: $720,000
2005 Champion: Sean O'Hair (268, -16)

John Deere Classic Notes
  • Six players have earned victories via a sudden-death playoff at the John Deere Classic: Dave Barr (1981), Danny Edwards (1983), Joey Sindelar (1990), J.L. Lewis (1999), Michael Clark II (2000) and Mark Hensby (2004).

  • Of the 34 previous John Deere Classics, 20 have been decided by either one stroke or a sudden-death playoff—including the last two. In 2004, Mark Hensby defeated John E. Morgan in a playoff, while Sean O'Hair edged Robert Damron and Hank Kuehne by a stroke a year ago.

  • With his victory at the 2003 John Deere Classic, Vijay Singh became the third player over the age of 40 (40 years, 6 months, 24 days) to win the John Deere Classic, joining D.A. Weibring (42 years, 3 months, 30 days) in 1995 and Ed Fiori (43 years, 4 months, 25 days) in 1996.

  • In this week’s field along with defending champ Sean O’Hair are former winners J.P. Hayes (2002), David Gossett (2001), Michael Clark II (2000), Steve Jones (1998), Blaine McCallister (1988) and Dan Forsman (1985).

  • The leading player at the John Deere Classic, not otherwise exempt, will gain a spot in the 2006 British Open field. Ties will be decided by the better final-round score, and if players are still tied, the better third-round score and better second-round score will be the determining factor. Then if players are still tied, they will all be exempt.

  • The TPC Deere Run is the eighth of 11 TPCs the PGA TOUR will use as tournament courses for official TOUR events in 2006. The tournament is in its seventh year at the TPC Deere Run.

  • Michelle Wie will be playing in this event on a sponsor’s exemption for the second time.

  • Robert Damron will try to recapture some of the magic he exhibited last year when he tied for second, a stroke behind winner Sean O'Hair. Damron's top finish this season was a tie for 12th at the Nissan Open in February. But his game is rounding into shape as of late. He has made three consecutive cuts, including a tie for 21st at last week's Cialis Western Open.

  • The winning score at each of the last three John Deere Classics is 16-under 268 by Vijay Singh (2003), Mark Hensby (2004) and Sean O'Hair (2005). J.P. Hayes owns the lowest 72-hole score at the TPC Deere Run. On his way to victory in 2002, he fired a 22-under 262.

  • John E. Morgan is in this week’s field, playing on a sponsor’s exemption. He has not played a PGA TOUR event this season and hasn't teed it up in a TOUR event since last season's Southern Farm Bureau Classic, where he tied for 64th. 



· Australian players have won six PGA TOUR titles this season
two each for Shell Houston Open winner Stuart Appleby and Geoff Ogilvy, and one each by Aaron Baddeley and Rod Pampling. Aussies won seven times in 2004, the most in one year by players from that country.

· With a T12 finish last week, Kenny Perry earned enough to become the 10th player in PGA TOUR history to reach the $20 million mark in career earnings.

· Nine players in their 20s have won this year on TOUR
Geoff Ogilvy (two wins)and one each by J.B. Holmes, Rory Sabbatini, Luke Donald, Aaron Baddeley, Carl Pettersson, Ben Curtis and Trevor Immelman.· Four rookies have already passed the $1 million mark in earnings this year Camilo Villegas, J.B. Holmes, Nathan Green and Trevor Immelman.

· Rookies from the Nationwide Tour have already collected 13 Top-10 finishes this year, while Q-School rookies have earned only five. Nathan Green leads the way for Nationwide Tour rookies with four Top-10 efforts.

· J.J. Henry, Billy Andrade, Mathew Goggin and Hunter Mahan have all earned spots in next week’s British Open. The leading player among the Top-10 finishers at this week’s John Deere Classic, if he is not otherwise eligible, will earn an exemption into the event as well.


· How about a round of applause for former Shell Houston Open winner Bob Charles who made the cut at the U.S. Senior Open last week at the age of 70. The lefthander finished in a T47.

· Speaking of age, Allen Doyle became the oldest player to win the U.S. Senior Open with his victory last week. Doyle claimed the title at age 57 years, 11 months and 17 days.

· Allen Doyle’s win last win gave him a successful title defense at the Senior Open. The week before, Dana Quigley successfully defended his title at the Greater Kansas City Golf Classic. The Tour has not seen successful defense in consecutive weeks since the 2002 season when Bruce Lietzke won the SAS Championship for the second consecutive season and Hale Irwin followed by winning the Turtle Bay Championship for the second year in a row.

· The winner of this week’s Ford Senior Players Championship will earn a spot in next year’s THE PLAYERS Championship on the PGA TOUR.


· The leading money winner on the Nationwide Tour this year will earn aspot in next year’s THE PLAYERS Championship on the PGA TOUR.

· Rookie Michael Putnam missed the cut in his first two starts of theseason but has made it in his last nine starts. He has three Top-10 finishes in that stretch and is now 13th on the money list.

· Including Jason Gore, the 21 players who graduated to the PGA TOUR from the Class of 2005 have done extremely well on TOUR this year, with 12 of them currently among the Top 125. In fact, four of them
Camilo Villegas, Nathan Green, Chris Couch and Mathew Goggin are among the Top 50.

· Fourteen players have competed in all 15 tournaments to date Hunter Haas, Fran Quinn, Scott Weatherly, Paul Claxton, Joe Daley, Bob Heintz, Kevin Durkin, Brandt Snedeker, Brad Ott, Michael Long, Josh Broadaway, Kevin Gessino-Kraft, Brett Bingham and Scott Ford.

Back to Tour Talk Archive