JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


Matt Jones pulls off Hollywood finish in playoff - April 06, 2014 ...more

Kuchar forges 4-shot lead after three rounds - April 05, 2014 ...more

Garcia leads Kuchar by one after two rounds - April 04, 2014 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
Shell Oil Company President Marvin Odum, right, and Houston Golf Association President Steve Timms, left, flank youngsters who helped announce a Community Impact number of $2,236,977 from the proceeds of the 2014 Shell Houston Open.
  04/02  185  
  04/03  558  
  04/04  399  
  04/05  206  
  04/06  264  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Jay Hebert
Jay Hebert (1961)
Memorial Park GC
International Tournament - August 07, 2006

Castle Pines GC

Castle Rock, CO
Par: 36-3672Yards: 7,619
Purse: $5,500,000Winner: $990,000
2005 Champion: Retief Goosen (+32)


With his victory last year, South African Retief Goosen became the sixth international champion of The INTERNATIONAL, joining Australians Greg Norman (1989) and Rod Pampling (2004), Spain’s Jose Maria Olazabal (1991), Fiji’s Vijay Singh (1998) and South Africa’s Ernie Els (2000).

Last year, Retief Goosen became just the second champion in lthe ast nine years at The INTERNATIONAL to trail after 54 holes and go on to win. Goosen trailed Brandt Jobe by nine points entering the final round but rallied with seven points on the final day, as Jobe finished one behind Goosen.

Retief Goosen looks to extend his streak of consecutive seasons with a PGA TOUR victory. Currently, he is tied for second on the active list with Vijay Singh. Both have won tournaments five years running. Tiger Woods has the longest current streak, at 11 years. jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer share the record, with wins in 17 consecutive seasons.

Despite missing the 2005 INTERNATIONAL due to knee surgery, Ernie Els remains the event’s all-time leading money-winner, with $1,667,240. Phil Mickelson is a close second, with $1,531,270.

Three players have posted eight-point double eagles at The INTERNATIONAL, with two coming in the final round in 1990—by Steve Pate (driver and a 2-iron at the eighth hole) and Jim Gallagher, Jr., (driver and a 5-iron at the 17th). The most recent double eagle came in 2002 when Steve Lowery used a driver and a 6-iron at the 17th in the final round.

The par-3 16th hole at Castle Pines Golf Club is the only hole to have never given up an eagle during the 20-year history of The INTERNATIONAL.

The INTERNATIONAL is the only PGA TOUR event with a “second cut” after the third round. After 36 holes, the top 72 players (and ties) advance to Saturday. Following 54 holes, the top 36 players (and ties) advance to the final round. This “second cut” was used for the first time in 1999.

Phil Mickelson (1993 and 1997) and Davis Love III (1990 and 2003) are the only two-time winners of The INTERNATIONAL in its first 20 years. Mickelson (1997) and Ernie Els (2000) share the tournament record for points with 48.

The most points on a single hole during The INTERNATIONAL is 20 by Jim Gallagher, Jr., who, in 1990, played No. 17 birdie-eagle-eagle-double eagle. Gallagher finished with 24 total tournament points.

Two INTERNATIONALS have needed Sunday playoffs to decide a winner. In 1994, Steve Lowery parred the first extra hole to defeat Rick Fehr. In 1996, Clarence Rose defeated Brad Faxon with an eagle on the third extra hole.

Steve Lowery (1994), Clarence Rose (1996) and Rod Pampling (2004) are the only three players to win their maiden PGA TOUR event at The INTERNATIONAL.

Back to Tour Talk Archive