JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Tony Sills
Tony Sills (1990)
TPC at The Woodlands
FBR Open - January 29, 2007

TPC Scottsdale

Par: 35-3671Yards: 7,216
Scottsdale, AZ
FedExCup Points: 25,000 Winner: 4,500
Purse: $6,000,000Winner: $1,080,000
2006 Champion: J.B. Holmes (263, -21)

FBR Open Notes

At 23 years, 9 months, 9 days, J.B. Holmes became the youngest winner of the FBR Open since Jerry Pate won the 1977 event at 23 years, 3 months, 3 days. Holmes was also the youngest player since Sean O’Hair (22 years 11 months, 29 days) to win on the PGA TOUR. O’Hair won the John Deere Classic in 2005.

J.B. Holmes became the ninth player to earn his first PGA TOUR victory at the FBR Open, joining Ed Furgol (1954), Rod Funseth (1965), Dudley Wysong (1966), Bob Gilder (1976), Jeff Mitchell (1980), Paul Azinger (1987), Tommy Armour III (1990) and Jesper Parnevik (1998).

On the strength of five birdies in his last six holes in the final round in 2006, Phil Mickelson, the 2005 champion, tied for seventh and picked up his eighth top-10 (fourth consecutive) in his 16th start at the FBR Open.

Two rookies finished first and second in 2006—J.B. Holmes and Camilo Villegas, who tied for second with four other players.

Prior to J.B. Holmes’ seven-shot win at the 2006 FBR Open, the last player to win his first TOUR event by more than seven strokes was Jose Maria Olazabal when he captured the 1990 NEC World Series of Golf by 12 shots.

With his victory at the 2006 FBR Open, J.B. Holmes became the first player to win the PGA TOUR National Qualifying Tournament and then win on TOUR the next season since Mike Weir won the 1998 National Qualifying Tournament and the 1999 Air Canada Championship. The last rookie to perform the feat was Woody Austin, who won the 1994 National Qualifying Tournament and the 1995 Buick Open. George McNeill, the 2006 PGA TOUR National Qualifying Tournament winner, is playing this week.

The seven consecutive birdies in the second round by J.J. Henry set the TPC Scottsdale record at last year’s FBR Open. Five players had carded six straight birdies, with Justin Leonard in 2004 the most recent to do it.

Five players over 40 have captured the FBR Open: Mark Calcavecchia (2001), Tom Lehman (2000), Calvin Peete (1985), Miller Barber (1978) and Julius Boros (1967). Boros was the oldest winner at 46 years, 11 months, 9 days.

J.J. Henry’s 29 on the back nine in the second round in 2006 equaled the low-back-nine record at the TPC Scottsdale set by Grant Waite (1996) and later matched by Scott Verplank (1998).

Next year, the FBR Open will be held the same week as Super Bowl XLII. The tournament is in Scottsdale, while the NFL's championship game will be held in nearby Glendale.

Back to Tour Talk Archive