JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Paul Casey
Paul Casey (2009)
Golf Club of Houston - TC
John Deere Classic - July 09, 2007

TPC Deere Run

Silvis, IL
Par: 35-35—70Yards: 7,255
FedExCup Points: 25,000 Winner: 4,500
Purse: $4,100,000Winner: $738,000
2006 Champion: John Senden (265, -19)

John Deere Classic Notes

In claiming the 2006 John Deere Classic title, Australia’s John Senden became the seventh international player to win the event, joining fellow Aussie Mark Hensby (2005), Fiji’s Vijay Singh (2003), South Africa’s David Frost (1992-93), Canada’s Dave Barr (1981), Mexico’s Victor Regalado and New Zealand’s John Lister (1976).

John Senden owes much of his 2006 John Deere Classic title to his play on the first two holes at TPC Deere Run. Senden recorded seven birdies and one par in his eight combined trips through the par-4 first and the par-5 second holes. Runner-up J.P. Hayes, who fell one shot shy of Senden, played those same holes in 2-under par.

In the history of the John Deere Classic, four players over age 40 have won: Vijay Singh (2003), Ed Fiori (1996), D.A. Weibring (1995), and Mark McCumber (1994).

Zach Johnson, this year’s Masters Tournament champion, will be the first Masters winner to compete in the John Deere Classic in the same year as his win. Johnson has played the last five John Deere Classics, with his best finish a tie for 20th in 2004.

Six players have earned victories via sudden-death playoffs at the John Deere Classic: Dave Barr (1981), Danny Edwards (1983), Joey Sindelar (1990), J.L. Lewis (1999), Michael Clark II (2000) and Mark Hensby (2004).

The highest top-10 finisher at this week’s John Deere Classic, not otherwise exempt, will gain a playing spot in next week’s British Open. Ties will be decided by the better final-round score, and if players are still tied the better third-round score and better second-round score will be the determining factors. If players are still tied, a hole-by-hole scorecard playoff will take place beginning with scores at the 18th hole of the final round and working backward. John Senden, the 2006 John Deere Classic champ, earned a spot in the 2006 British Open field and went on to a tie-for-35th finish.

In 2006, John Senden became the 18th player to win his first PGA TOUR title at the John Deere Classic. Here is the complete list:

John Senden (2006), Dan Forsman (1985), Sean O’Hair (2005) Payne Stewart (1982), Mark Hensby (2004), Dave Barr (1981), David Gossett (2001) Scott Hoch (1980), Michael Clark II (2000), D.A. Weibring (1979), J.L. Lewis (1999), Mike Morley (1977), David Toms (1997), John Lister (1976), Curt Byrum (1989), Roger Maltbie (1975), Blaine McCallister (1988), Sam Adams (1973)

Back to Tour Talk Archive