JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Fred Couples
Fred Couples (2003)
Golf Club of Houston - MC
Canadian Open - July 23, 2007

Angus Glen Golf Club

Markham, Ontario, Canada
Par: 35-36—71Yards: 7,421
FedExCup Points: 25,000 Winner: 4,500
Purse: $5,000,000Winner: $900,000
2006 Champion: Jim Furyk (266, -14)

Canadian Open Notes

Last year, Jim Furyk set the Hamilton Golf and Country Club course record with a 7-under 63 in the first round en-route to a one-stroke victory over Bart Bryant. It was Furyk’s 12th victory on the PGA TOUR.

After two close calls—in 1989 and again in 1994 when he finished second—Mark Calcavecchia finally broke through and won the Canadian Open in 2005. He defeated Ben Crane and Ryan Moore by a stroke for his 12th PGA TOUR title.

Since winning the 2006 Canadian Open Jim Furyk has racked up nine top-10 finishes, highlighted by runner-up performances at the 2006 TOUR Championship, and the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial and the U.S. Open this season.

With the win a year ago, Jim Furyk became the 11th American to win the Canadian Open in the last 12 years. He also became the 15th player in tournament history to capture both the U.S. Open and the Canadian Open. Only four players have managed that feat in the same year. They are Tommy Armour (1927), Lee Trevino (1971), Jerry Pate (1976) and Tiger Woods (2000).

There has not been a wire-to-wire winner at this event since Lee Trevino in 1977. Trevino won that year by four strokes over Peter Oosterhuis. Since then, the Canadian Open’s margin of victory has been three strokes or less. Oosterhuis came back four years later and won the Canadian Open by a stroke over Bruce Lietzke, Jack Nicklaus and Andy North. Oosterhuis will be on site this week broadcasting for both GOLF CHANNEL and CBS Sports.

This week the Canadian Open moves to the North Course at Angus Glen Golf Course in Markham. Since the inaugural event in 1904, the Canadian Open has only been played at Angus Glen once. In 2002, John Rollins defeated Justin Leonard and Neal Lancaster on the South course in a playoff to claim his first PGA TOUR title.

The North Course was recently redesigned by Davis Love III, winner of 19 PGA TOUR events. Love’s best Canadian Open finish came in 1997 when he tied for sixth, including a final-round 65 at Royal Montreal Golf Club, site of this year’s Presidents Cup matches.

At the only other Canadian Open held at Angus Glen, Justin Leonard was the lone player to shoot four rounds in the 60s at the South Course. Leonard fired rounds of 69-68-66-69 to get in a playoff, only to lose to John Rollins.

There are 16 multiple winners in Canadian Open history, led by four-time winner Leo Diegel (1924-25, 1928-29) and three-time champs Tommy Armour (1927, 1930, 1934), Sam Snead (1938, 1940-41) and Lee Trevino (1971, 1977, 1979). The last player to pick up his second Canadian Open victory was Steve Jones, who won in 1997 after first capturing the 1989 tournament.



    Jim Furyk will be looking to become the first player to win back-to-back Canadian Open titles since Jim Ferrier won in 1950-51.
    No Canadian has won his national championship since Pat Fletcher won at Point Grey GC in Vancouver back in 1954.
    Kenny Perry has been on a hot streak over his last five starts. During that stretch, Perry has gone from outside the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup in 152nd place on the FedExCup points list to 69th thanks to consecutive finishes of T3-T15-T10-T11 and T5.
    With his win last week at the British Open, Padraig Harrington vaulted from 79th on the FedExCup list to 19th and back into contention for top honors in the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup. In fact, Harrington is a past champion at The Barclays, the first event of the Playoffs and has a runner-up finish there as well.
    Lucas Glover has moved into 10th place on the U.S. Presidents Cup team points list with John Rollins dropping to 11th. There are only three weeks left to make the team. On the International side, Canadian Mike Weir moved into 17th place following his T8 at the British Open.
    Tim Clark has finished second the last two weeks behind familiar Atlantic Coast Conference rivals. The former NC State golfer lost by one stroke to former Clemson star Jonathan Byrd at the John Deere Classic two weeks ago and last week he finished in a T2 to Duke’s Joe Ogilvie. All three were collegiate foes in the mid-to-late 1990s.

    Former major championship winners Nick Faldo and Wayne Grady will make their Champions Tour debuts this week at the Senior British Open at Muirfield. Faldo won British Open titles at that course in 1987 and 1992.
    Three players have won the British Open and the Senior British Open — Gary Player, Bob Charles and Tom Watson.
    There will be double Charles Schwab Cup points available this week. The last time double points were available at the U.S. Senior Open, Brad Bryant leaped from third place all the way to the top spot with his victory. Bryant still holds down the number one position by a slim 112 points over Jay Haas.

    Joe Ogilvie’s win last week at the U.S. Bank Championship was the 208th on the PGA TOUR by a former Nationwide Tour player. It was the 12th this season and Ogilvie became the 95th different alum to win on the PGA TOUR.
    Nick Flanagan will be looking for his third victory of the season and an automatic promotion to the PGA TOUR this week at the Cox Classic in Omaha. Seven players have earned automatic promotions to the TOUR since the Nationwide Tour began and three of them did so at the Cox Classic. Chris Smith was the first in 1997 followed by Heath Slocum in 2001 and Jason Gore in 2005. If Flanagan can pull off the feat, the Aussie will be the first international player to do so.
    Daniel Summerhays, who became the first amateur in Nationwide Tour history to win an event with his recent triumph at the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Invtitational, will make his pro debut this week at the Cox Classic.

Back to Tour Talk Archive