JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Mike Souchak
Mike Souchak (1955)
Memorial Park GC
- April 29, 2003

  • With his T9 last week at the Shell Houston Open, Peter Jacobsen now has back-to-back top-10 finishes for the first time since March of 1995 when he T2 at the Ford Championship at Doral and finished third at Bay Hill.

  • Fred Couples defeated runners-up Mark Calcavecchia, Stuart Appleby and Hank Kuehne to win the Shell Houston Open last week. It wasn't the first time Couples and Calcavecchia have finished one-two in a tournament. At the 1987 Byron Nelson Classic, Couples defeated Calcavecchia in a three-hole playoff after the two were tied through regulation at 14-under.

  • Fred Couples' 21-under 267 was his lowest 18-hole score in relation to par in his career. In 1998 at the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic, Couples was 28-under in the 90-hole event he won in sudden-death over Bruce Lietzke.

  • Last week in Houston, lack of accuracy off the tee didn't seem to bother the leaders. Both Fred Couples and Mark Calcavecchia managed to hit only 29 of 56 fairways (51.8 percent). Hank Kuehne struggled even more. He was successful hitting the fairway only 42.9 percent of the time (24 of 56).

  • Winners of the first 16 stroke-play events of 2003 have averaged 18.25 strokes under-par. The winners of the same events in 2002 averaged 16.38 strokes under-par.

  • Jay Haas finished fifth last week at the Shell Houston Open. He's finished in the top five in four different 2003 events and, at age 49, has won a career-best $1,543,064.

  • It's never a surprise to see an international player win on TOUR, but particularly in New Orleans. Four of the last five HP Classics of New Orleans have been won by international players ( Lee Westwood, Carlos Franco (twice), K.J. Choi). Winners of this event over the years have hailed from eight different countries?Canada, England, South Korea, Paraguay, South Africa, Spain, United States and Wales.

  • John Daly had the year's longest recorded drive?a 381-yard effort on the ninth hole during the second round of the Shell Houston Open. The long effort helped raise his season average to 310.4, well ahead of his 2002 PGA TOUR record setting 306.8-yard average.


  • Look for a Clemson alum this week at the BMW Charity Pro-Am at the Cliffs. The first two winners of this event?Jonathan Byrd and Charles Warren -- were each alums of the nearby university.

  • When Jack Nicklaus tees it up this week he will become the sixth major championship winner to play in a Nationwide Tour event after winning a major title. He joins Dave Stockton, Any North, Bob Charles, Wayne Grady and Scott Simpson on that list.

  • What a difference a change in seasons can bring. The Rheem Classic was played in the summer during its first five years but this year moved to the spring. The course played far tougher this year, with 272 the winning score. In the first five years of the event, the winning score averaged 264.

  • This week's BMW Charity Pro-Am at The Cliffs is the Nationwide Tour's only multiple-day, multiple-course Pro-Am. Among the celebrities expected to compete are Jim Courier, Kevin Costner, Cheech Marin, Gabrielle Reese, the Gatlin Brothers, John O'Hurley, Hootie & The Blowfish, Steve Bartkowski and George Rogers.

  • In the first two playings of the BMW Charity Pro-Am at The Cliffs, the event has donated more than $1 million to local charity.

  • Zach Johnson's 66 in the fourth round of the Rheem Classic is the lowest final-round score by a winner this season.


  • This is the 12th year of the Bruno's Memorial Classic and no one has won the event twice. That's in keeping with this season's trend of no repeat winners. The Champions Tour has had nine different winners in the first nine events of the year, tying the Tour record set in 1995.

  • The Pro-Am at the Bruno's Memorial Classic has a celebrity feel to it as well boasting the likes of Charles Barkley, Vince Gill, Mia Hamm, Kenny Stabler and Bo Jackson.

  • Bruce Lietzke defended his title last week at the Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf?sort of. He won the 2002 event when he teamed with Bill Rogers to win the Raphael Division. This year he played in the Legends Division and won the individual title.

  • For the fourth consecutive year, players with broadcasting backgrounds won at the Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf. Last week, NBC commentators Gary Koch and Roger Maltbie teamed to win the Raphael Division, the 36-hole, unofficial-money better-ball tournament. In 2002, former Golf Channel, Fox and ESPN commentator Doug Tewell won the Legends Division. And in 2000 and 2001 Jim Colbert, a former ESPN commentator, teamed with current ESPN announcer Andy North to win back-to-back Legends Division titles.

Back to Tour Talk Archive