JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Johnny Palmer
Johnny Palmer (1949)
Pine Forest CC
Wyndham Championship - August 13, 2007

Forest Oaks Country Club

Greensboro, NC
Par: 36-36—72Yards: 7,333
FedExCup Points: 25,000 Winner: 4,500
Purse: $5,000,000Winner: $900,000
2006 Champion: Davis Love III (272, -16)

Wyndham Championship Notes

The last eight tournament winners have either held or shared the 54-hole lead at Forest Oaks Country Club. Davis Love III (2006) joined the list of those who have recently gone on to win—Jesper Parnevik (1999), Hal Sutton (2000), Scott Hoch (2001), Rocco Mediate (2002), Shigeki Maruyama (2003), Brent Geiberger (2004) and K.J. Choi (2005). A total of 33 players since 1950 have held or shared the third-round lead and gone on to win in Greensboro.

This is the 68th playing of the Wyndham Championship and the 31st consecutive year the tournament has been at Forest Oaks Country Club.

A total of 13 players have earned their first PGA TOUR win in Greensboro. Trevor Dodds was the last to accomplish the feat, in 1998.

Four players have earned more than $1 million in Greensboro: Shigeki Maruyama, K.J. Choi, Davis Love III and Rocco Mediate. Brent Geiberger is fifth on the tournament’s all-time money list, with $962,323.

The last time the 36-hole cut was above par at Forest Oaks was in 1996 (2-over 146).

Last year’s first-round scoring average of 70.000 was the lowest first-round average for the tournament since complete statistical records started in 1983. It was also the second-lowest single-round scoring average at Forest Oaks, bettered only by the 69.961 third-round average in 2005.

Since 1970, there have been only three wire-to-wire winners in Greensboro: Tom Weiskopf (1975), Mike Springer (1994) and Jesper Parnevik (1999).

Sam Snead’s eight wins in Greensboro are the most in a single PGA TOUR event. The first of Snead’s eight wins came in 1938 and the last in 1965. The 27-year span between the first and the last is also a TOUR record. Snead was also the last player to win back-to-back titles in Greensboro (1955-56).

Former University of North Carolina basketball coach Dean Smith will be playing in the Wednesday pro-am and will be paired with defending champion Davis Love III, a three-time All-American at UNC from 1983-85.

Byron Nelson ran off his record 11 consecutive PGA TOUR victories during the 1945 season, with this tournament the third victory in his streak. Nelson collected $1,333 for his winning performance at Starmount Forest Country Club that week.



    • You might want to look for an international winner this week at the Wyndham Championship. Five of the last 10 winners of the Greensboro event have been from outside the U.S. including players from New Zealand, Namibia, Sweden, Japan and South Korea.
    • This is the final week to qualify for the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup and all the bubble boys are on hand in Greensboro. Marco Dawson currently holds down the 144th and final spot, but he’s only 102 points ahead of #145 Eric Axley. In fact, all 11 players between 140th place (Michael Putnam) and 150th (Mathias Gronberg) are entered this week with just 273 points separating them. By the way, 22nd place at the Wyndham Championship is worth 280 points.
    • The Presidents Cup teams were finalized on Monday and the International team boasts 10 players among the Top 25 in the world while the U.S. team has eight players in the Top 25.
    • Who made the biggest strides in making the Presidents Cup this year? Hunter Mahan began the year as the 219th ranked player in the world and has climbed all the way to 49th. He was one of Jack Nicklaus’ Captains picks.
    • Who made the biggest strides in the final week of Presidents Cup qualifying? Woody Austin went from 18th in the U.S. team standings all the way to 10th with his runner-up effort at the PGA Championship.
    • Was it just a coincidence? Monday was International Lefthanders Day and International Team Captain Gary Player made Nick O’Hern and Mike Weir his two Captains picks. Both are lefties.


    • In his nine starts at the JELD-WEN Tradition, Gil Morgan has won twice, finished in the Top-10 five times and has never shot a round higher than par. In his 26 rounds in the event, Morgan has been in the 60s 18 times and has 24 under-par rounds to his credit.
    • This week’s JELD-WEN Tradition will offer the winner a whopping 780 Charles Schwab Cup points. Jay Haas currently leads Brad Bryant by 194 points and Loren Roberts by 653, but he could be passed by either if they should win.
    • If Hale Irwin should win this week he would tie Jack Nicklaus for the most senior major championship titles in a career -- eight. He would also join Nicklaus as the only players to win four different senior major championships.
    • This week’s JELD-WEN Tradition will be the fourth major championship of the season. This year, for the first time, all five majors will be shown on network television. This week’s tournament will have Saturday-Sunday coverage on NBC. GOLF Channel will provide early round coverage.


    • Three players who competed on the Nationwide Tour last year finished in the Top-20 at last week’s PGA Championship. Boo Weekley led the way with a T9 finish while Ken Duke and Brandt Snedeker each finished T18.
    • The Nationwide Tour will be well represented at this year’s Presidents Cup. The U.S. team boasts seven alums—Jim Furyk, Zach Johnson, David Toms, Steve Stricker, Stewart Cink, Woody Austin and Lucas Glover—while the International side has two—Ernie Els and Stuart Appleby.
    • Irondequoit CC, the site of this week’s Xerox Classic, is one of the shortest courses on the Nationwide Tour at 6,720 yards. That doesn’t mean it’s easy, though. Last year, Irondequoit played as the eighth most difficult course on the Tour at 1.063 strokes over par.
    • Four of the Top-10 players in Driving Accuracy have won this year—Omar Uresti, Skip Kendall, Paul Claxton and Chez Reavie. Only one player in the Top-10 in Driving Distance has won—Jason Day.

Back to Tour Talk Archive