JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Vijay Singh
Vijay Singh (2002)
TPC at The Woodlands
Viking Classic; President's Cup - September 24, 2007

The Royal Montreal Golf Club

Ile Bizard, Quebec, Canada
Par: 35-35—70Yards: 7,153
2005 Result: United States

The Presidents Cup Notes

This week’s Presidents Cup marks the third consecutive as captains for Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player. Nicklaus is making his fourth overall appearance as the U.S. captain. He led the U.S. in 1998 in Australia when the International Team recorded its only victory. He and Player shared The Presidents Cup in 2003 in South Africa after their teams tied, and Nicklaus’ U.S. Team won The Presidents Cup in 2005 in suburban Washington, D.C. Nicklaus surpasses Australia’s Peter Thomson as the man who has captained the most Presidents Cups. Thomson was the International Team Captain in 1996, 1998 and 2000.

There are three left-handed golfers playing this week at Royal Montreal: Phil Mickelson (U.S.) and Australia’s Nick O’Hern and Canada’s Mike Weir.

There are six first-time Presidents Cup participants on the teams this year: Woody Austin, Lucas Glover, Zach Johnson and Hunter Mahan (U.S.) and Geoff Ogilvy and Rory Sabbatini (International). Johnson has previous team experience, representing the U.S. in the Ryder Cup in 2006.

The Royal Montreal Golf Club should bring back good memories for Scott Verplank. Verplank shot 70-63-66-67—266 (14-under par) to win the 2001 Canadian Open at this venue. Verplank beat Joey Sindelar and Bob Estes by three strokes. Other Presidents Cup participants and how they fared in 2001: K.J. Choi (tied for eighth), Steve Stricker (tied for 18th), Stuart Appleby and Tiger Woods (tied for 23rd), Geoff Ogilvy (74th), Angel Cabrera, Vijay Singh and Woody Austin (cut). In 1997, when Steve Jones won the Canadian Open at Royal Montreal, Stewart Cink tied for 13th, Vijay Singh tied for 52nd and Woody Austin, Jim Furyk, Mike Weir and Tiger Woods missed the cut.

Phil Mickelson and Vijay Singh are the only players to play in all seven Presidents Cups. Each player has played in 28 matches of a possible 30 during the previous six Presidents Cups. Davis Love III has played in the six previous Presidents Cups but didn’t make the U.S. team this year.

The FedExCup champion, the winners of three of the four major championships, THE PLAYERS Championship and THE TOUR Championship are on teams this week: Zach Johnson (Masters Tournament), Angel Cabrera (U.S. Open), Tiger Woods (PGA Championship, FedExCup champion, THE TOUR Championship) and Phil Mickelson (THE PLAYERS). Padraig Harrington, the British Open champion, is from Ireland and not eligible to participate in The Presidents Cup.

Vijay Singh, at age 44, is the oldest participant this year. Hunter Mahan, age 25, is the youngest.

Annandale Golf Club

Madison, MS
Par: 36-36—72 Yards: 7,199
Purse: $3,500,000 Winner: $630,000
2006 Champion: D.J. Trahan (275, -13)

The second event of the PGA TOUR Fall Series is this week in Madison, MS, as D.J. Trahan defends his title at the Viking Classic.

A birdie on the third playoff hole gave Trahan his first PGA TOUR victory at Annandale Golf Club a year ago, where he edged Joe Durant. Both players are in this week’s field. Trahan is 120th on the money list, while Durant is 125th. The top-125 on the money list at season’s end will have full PGA TOUR playing privileges in 2008.

This is the 14th year Annandale has hosted this tournament and the 22nd as an official PGA TOUR event. The Viking Classic originated in 1968 and was unofficial until 1986.

Back to Tour Talk Archive