JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


Matt Jones pulls off Hollywood finish in playoff - April 06, 2014 ...more

Kuchar forges 4-shot lead after three rounds - April 05, 2014 ...more

Garcia leads Kuchar by one after two rounds - April 04, 2014 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
Shell Oil Company President Marvin Odum, right, and Houston Golf Association President Steve Timms, left, flank youngsters who helped announce a Community Impact number of $2,236,977 from the proceeds of the 2014 Shell Houston Open.
  04/02  185  
  04/03  558  
  04/04  399  
  04/05  206  
  04/06  264  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Cary Middlecoff
Cary Middlecoff (1953)
Memorial Park GC
Fry's Electronics Open - October 15, 2007

Grayhawk Golf Club

Scottsdale, AZ
Par: 36-36—72Yards: 7,135
Purse: $5,000,000Winner: $900,000

Fry’s Electronics Open Notes

Aaron Baddeley will go for the Sonora Desert Double this week. Earlier this year, Baddeley won his second PGA TOUR title when he captured the FBR Open at the TPC Scottsdale. Baddeley, a native Australian who lives in Scottsdale, is in the field this week and is 10th on the money list, with $3,441,119 in season earnings.

Aaron Baddeley’s best earnings year on the PGA TOUR prior to this season came in 2006 when he made $1,516,513 to finish 55th on the money list.

Six players who finished in the top 10 at the FBR Open in February are playing this week at the Fry’s Electronics Open. They are Aaron Baddeley (won), John Rollins (second), Jeff Quinney (third), Billy Mayfair (fifth), Bubba Watson and Dean Wilson (tied for eighth). Another 12 who finished in the top 25 at the FBR Open will be at Grayhawk Golf Club’s Raptor Course this week.

Seven past FBR Open champions comprising 10 total victories will be in Scottsdale this week hoping to add the Fry’s Electronics Open to their win totals. The past FBR Open champions are Aaron Baddeley (2007), J.B. Holmes (2006), Phil Mickelson (1996, 2005), Mark Calcavecchia (1989, 1992, 2001), Tom Lehman (2000), Rocco Mediate (1999) and Jesper Parnevik (1998).

Three of the first four winners of Fall Series events are playing this week. George McNeill won last week at the Open, while Steve Flesch won the Turning Stone Resort Championship and Justin Leonard won the Valero Texas Open. Other 2007 PGA TOUR winners playing this week are Mark Calcavecchia, Charley Hoffman, Phil Mickelson, Joe Ogilvie, Brandt Snedeker and Nick Watney.

This is Phil Mickelson’s first start since playing at THE TOUR Championship presented by Coca-Cola, the final event of the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup. Mickelson, a graduate of Arizona State in nearby Tempe, has played well in the desert, winning as an amateur in Tucson in 1991 and capturing the tournament again in 1995. He also won the 1996 and 2005 FBR Opens in Scottsdale.

Back to Tour Talk Archive