JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Frank Beard
Frank Beard (1967)
Champions Golf Club
The Presidents Cup - October 05, 2009

Harding Park Golf Club

San Francisco, CA
Par: 36-3571Yards: 7,094
2007 Result: United States

San Francisco, Harding Park Poised
to Host Eighth Presidents Cup

The eighth Presidents Cup is this week at Harding Park Golf Course in San Francisco, CA. It will be the first time a U.S. golf course other than the Washington, D.C-area’s Robert Trent Jones Golf Club is hosting this biennial event.

Twelve U.S. players will take on 12 players from the International Team that comprises all countries but Europe. The U.S. is led by Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Steve Stricker, the world’s first-, second- and third-ranked players, while the International Team’s top players are Australia’s Geoff Ogilvy (No. 10 in the OWGR) and Fiji’s Vijay Singh (No. 15).

Fred Couples captains the U.S. Team after playing in four previous Presidents Cups, most recently in 2005. World Golf Hall of Fame member Greg Norman is the International captain. He played in the 1996, 1998 and 2000 President Cups.

The Presidents Cup Notes
Of the International Team players with prior Presidents Cup experience, Mike Weir, at 11-7-1 (57.8 percent), has the best winning percentage. Retief Goosen is at 55 percent (11-7-2), with Ernie Els winning 52 percent of his matches. Vijay Singh, with a record of 14-15-6, has the most match victories, followed by Els’ 13 and Goosen and Weir’s 11. On the U.S. side, Stewart Cink leads with an 8-4-1 record (61.5 percent). Jim Furyk is next. He has won 56.5 percent of his 23 matches (13-8-2). Furyk is also tied with Tiger Woods (13-11-1) for most match victories.

Vijay Singh and Phil Mickelson are the only two players to have played in every previous Presidents Cup. Mickelson has a record of 11-13-9 in his 33 matches, while Singh is 14-15-6.

First-time competitors in this week’s Presidents Cup include Japan’s Ryo Ishikawa, Colombia’s Camilo Villegas and South Korea’s Y.E. Yang. On the American side, Anthony Kim and Sean O’Hair are rookies.

Fourteen of the 24 players from the two Presidents Cup teams have won major championships, combining to capture 35 total majors. All four major champions from 2009—Angel Cabrera (Masters), Lucas Glover (U.S. Open), Stewart Cink (British Open) and Y.E. Yang (PGA Championship)—are competing this week.

This is the fifth time the United States has hosted The Presidents Cup, but it’s the first time the Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, VA, is not the host. The Washington, D.C.-area course was the site of the inaugural Presidents Cup in 1994 and again in 1996. Following the 1998 event, in Melbourne, Australia, the biennial tournament returned in 2000 and in 2005.

Past champions at PGA TOUR events held at Harding Park include Mason Rudolph, Gary Player, Gene Littler, Jack Burke, Jr., Chi Chi Rodriguez, George Archer, Ken Venturi, Billy Casper and Tiger Woods.

With this year’s addition of Camilo Villegas from Colombia, there have now been 11 international countries represented at The Presidents Cup. The others are Argentina, Australia, Canada, Fiji, Japan, New Zealand, Paraguay, South Africa, South Korea and Zimbabwe.

Davis Love III still holds the record for the most matches won in Presidents Cup competition. Love compiled a 16-8-4 record for the U.S. in his six appearances (1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003 and 2005).

Thirty-nine different players have represented the U.S. at The Presidents Cup, while 38 have played for the International Team.

Back to Tour Talk Archive