JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Paul Casey
Paul Casey (2009)
Golf Club of Houston - TC
Honda Classic - February 28, 2012
E-Notes – February 28, 2011

Americans have now won the first nine events of the 2012 PGA TOUR season. The last time Americans had a victory streak that long was during the 1991 season when U.S. players won the first 11 events until Ian Woosnam of Wales broke the streak with a win at the  USF&G Classic, now known as the Zurich Classic of New Orleans.  International players have dominated The Honda Classic in recent years, with wins by Padraig Harrington (2005), Luke Donald (2006), Ernie Els(2008), Y.E. Yang (2009), Camilo Villegas (2010) and Rory Sabbatini (2011). Mark Wilson (2005) is the lone U.S. native to win since 2005.

In the last five weeks, victors have come back from deficits of seven (Brandt Snedeker/Farmers Insurance Open), eight (Kyle Stanley/Waste Management Phoenix Open), six (Phil Mickelson/AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am) and seven (John Huh/Mayakoba Golf Classic) in the final round.

Four players have been nominated for the February PGA TOUR Player of the Month presented by Avis: Kyle Stanley (1/Waste Management Phoenix Open); Phil Mickelson (1/AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am and P2/Northern Trust Open); Bill Haas (P1/Northern Trust Open); and Hunter Mahan (1/World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship). Fans can vote for the February Player of the Month presented by Avis on PGATOUR.COM from February 28-March 4, with the winner announced on Tuesday, March 6. The winner will receive $50,000 from Avis to donate to the charity of his choice.

With his playoff victory at the 2012 Mayakoba Golf Classic, rookie John Huh (21 years, 9 months, 5 days) became the youngest winner on TOUR since Rory McIlroy won the 2010 Wells Fargo Championship at the age of 20 years, 11 months, 28 days.

Twenty-nine-year-old Hunter Mahan’s victory at the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship was his fourth PGA TOUR victory. Mahan,Bill Haas and Sean O’Hair all have four TOUR wins, trailing only Dustin Johnson’s five for players under the age of 30.

A glance at The Honda Classic field:

  • 17 of the top 30 in the current FedExCup standings, including Nos. 1-2 (Kyle Stanley and Johnson Wagner);
  • All four major winners from 2011: Charl Schwartzel (Masters), Rory McIlroy (U.S. Open), Darren Clarke (British Open) and Keegan Bradley (PGA Championship);
  • Three former FedExCup champions (Tiger Woods-Vijay Singh-Jim Furyk);
  • John Huh and Robert Allenby, the competitors in the Mayakoba Golf Classic playoff won by Huh that lasted eight holes; and
  • World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship semifinalists Mark Wilson and Lee Westwood (along with runner-up McIlroy).

Making his first professional start at The Honda Classic, Tiger Woods has 12 career PGA TOUR victories in the state of Florida. In 1993, Woods played The Honda Classic as an amateur at Weston Hills, where a 72-78 resulted in a missed cut.

Now in its 31st year, the American Honda Motor Co., Inc. has been a title sponsor on the PGA TOUR since the 1982 Honda Inverrary Classic, making it the PGA TOUR’s longest-running title sponsor. Honda is followed on the list by AT&T, which began sponsoring the Pebble Beach National Pro-Am in 1986.

John Huh posted a final-round 8-under-par 63 en route to his playoff victory at the Mayakoba Golf Classic. The previous-low finish by a winner in 2012 had beenPhil Mickelson, who posted an 8-under-par 64 in winning the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am.

The John Huh-Robert Allenby playoff at the Mayakoba Golf Classic matched the second-longest playoff in TOUR history, but Sunday’s extra session is one of five playoffs tied for the longest in TOUR history that didn’t end in a tie. The 1949 Motor City Open in Michigan ended deadlocked after 11 playoff holes when future World Golf Hall of Fame members Cary Middlecoff and Lloyd Mangrum elected to split the purse.

The 2012 Mayakoba Golf Classic marked the fifth eight-hole playoff in TOUR history:

1965 Azalea Open                     Dick Hart defeated Phil Rodgers

1978 Greater Milwaukee Open Lee Elder defeated Lee Trevino

1981 Quad Cities Open            Dave Barr defeated Woody Blackburn, Dan Halldorson, Frank Conner, Victor Regalado

1983 Phoenix Open                  Bob Gilder defeated Rex Caldwell, Johnny Miller, Mark O’Meara

2012 Mayakoba Golf Classic     John Huh defeated Robert Allenby


The Nationwide Tour resumes its 2012 Latin America season launch this week at the Panama Claro Championship. Panama Golf Club in Panama City hosts the Tour for the ninth year in a row. Next week it's on to Santiago, Chile, the Tour's first venture in that country.

Bio Kim is the youngest player on Tour this year. The South Korean is 21 (Aug. 22nd birthday). Danny Lee was the youngest player last year. He was 20 at the start of the season.

Earlier this week global insurance organization Hub International was named presenting sponsor of the Soboba Golf Classic, which will be played in April in San Jacinto, Calif.

Did you know?

  • Arnold Palmer defeated Sam Snead in a six-hole playoff to win the 1956 Panama Open at this week's host Panama Golf Club
  • $75.3 million has been donated to charity by Nationwide Tour events since the Tour's inception in 1990
  • 358 players have earned PGA TOUR cards via the Nationwide Tour
  • 652 Nationwide Tour events have been played
  • 1,268 names appear on the Nationwide Tour's All-Time Alumni Roster


Corey Pavin is the Champions Tour Player of the Month for January/February. Pavin won the Allianz Championship, defeating Peter Senior with a birdie at the first playoff hole. It was Pavin’s first win in his 35th start on the Tour. Pavin also shot 7-under 29 over the back nine of the Old Course at Broken Sound in his opening round of 64. Pavin finished T18 at the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai and T50 at the ACE Group Classic.

Michael Allen (T9) earned a spot in this week’s Honda Classic on the PGA TOUR with his top-10 finish at last week's Mayakoba Classic.

Kenny Perry, who is in the field at the PGA TOUR’s Honda Classic this week, requires $21,548 in official PGA TOUR or Champions Tour prize money to reach $33 million in All Time Career Money. Perry is No. 1 on the list (for Champions Tour professionals), almost $800,000 ahead of Hale Irwin.

“Not many people have won on both Tours. I’ve got this side done. I just need to figure out a way to win over there.”  Kenny Perry talks about winning on both the PGA TOUR and the Champions Tour in the same year after winning the ACE Group Classic. Only three players have achieved the feat – Raymond Floyd(1992), Craig Stadler (2003) and Fred Funk (2007).

Bernhard Langer, the 2010 Charles Schwab Cup winner, lies third in the Charles Schwab Cup standings after three Champions Tour events this year and has yet to win a tournament in 2012. Langer was T15 at the season-opening event, before posting a T3 finish and a runner-up result in his last two tournaments.

So far this year, Joe Daley has a 100 percent success rate in Monday qualifying for both the Allianz Championship (T31) and the ACE Group Classic (T12). Last year, Daley made it into six Champions Tour events via Monday qualifying, the most of any player during the season.

Back to Tour Talk Archive